Daily Prompt: Quirky Of Habit

 

 

weird-eating-habits-foar296-140x140

Photo: Courtesy: Google

 

Quirky, quirky habit:

The negative effect beats the positive

And I hate it

‘Cause of how you do it

Quirky, quirky habit!

I hate it when you click your mouth after every bite

When you spew saliva as you talk

When you change the topic of discussion

And leave me feeling like a dunce

Quirky, quirky habit!

You cannot eat bread with a fork and knife

You can’t sneeze at my face without an apology

And still think I’ll like you

Quirky, quirky habit

Yes, it’s your habit

But I like it

When you know how it affects me

Copyright © 2016 by Love Talk

All rights reserved.

This post is in response to the daily prompt: Quirky of Habit

The Stranger on the Phone Part 5 (Short Story)

“I’m surprised that you’re up by this hour of the night in Istanbul. Are you on a date?”

“No, mum. I’d a terrible nightmare.”

“It’s just a nightmare, don’t let it bother you.”

“It’s more than a nightmare.”

“Is there something you want to tell me?”

“Yes, mum.”

“Go ahead, I’m listening.”

“I met a handsome guy on the plane on my way here. His name is Jack. We got talking. I liked him, and I gave him my number. I got his text message yesterday morning. He wanted to know if I could talk to him at 9 pm. I accepted, and I got a call at exactly 9 pm. The caller ID was Jack. I picked the call, and he asked me if I could see him. I told him we were not in a video call. He said he could see me.”

“Was that a joke?”

“No, it wasn’t and I was scared. To make matters worse, he said he was standing beside me… Hello, are you there?”

“I’m here. It’s scary.”

“Yes, it is.”

“What did you do?”

“I looked around and headed for the door in anxiety. Guess what?”

“What?”

“He spoke to me after I had cut the line, but I heard his voice.”

“What’s going on, Tricia? Have you been drinking lately?”

“No mum. I told you I’d stopped drinking. I’m telling you exactly what happened to me today.”

“I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to doubt you.”

“It’s okay mum, I understood you. I could have asked the same question to anyone in my situation.”

“I’m glad you saw reasons with me. What did he say?”

“He said I should not be afraid. He called me his princess.”

“His princess?”

“Yes, and I asked him who he was. He said he was Jack, the man I met on the plane.”

“Weird.”

 

Copyright © 2016 by Love Talk

All rights reserved.